top of page

Loving grannies

I always find it extremely interesting to see grannies allow their angels to get away with everything short of murder. I have one of those mothers who believe her grandson is the epitome of perfection, she lifts an eyebrow whenever I ask him to do anything more than breathing... heaven forbid the ex-tea-making-slave should ask her son to make coffee. And I truly think she fully believes the simple act of a 10 year old washing dishes might plummet the world as we know it back into the dark ages.

How this logic works I have no idea?!? The second I was old enough to handle boiling water with some form of safety I was allocated tea making duties. I was also in charge of making white-sauce from scratch and I could cook a bowl of rice to perfection by age 8. Though this likely made me moan and groan continuously I am now extremely thankful to my mother for teaching me how to do these things and sooo much more. It enabled me to smoothly transition from my mothers house into my own home.

I'm thankful because I have seen the other side of the spectrum. My mother-in-law chose the let children be children rout. She cooked and cleaned after her sons and expected little too no input from them in the house. I love her dearly so don't misunderstand me, her sons are both awesome upstanding men (I married one of them after all) But they faced many struggles when they finally left the nest that we would, if at all possible, like to avoid the same happening to our son.

It falls on us as parents to raise our children to be functioning contributing adults one day, they should not look at entering the big bad adult world as a daunting prospect but rather as an adventure for which they have been fully prepared and set out to conquer life with a backpack filled to over flowing with all the tools needed to succeed.

So I just giggle and roll my eyes behind my extremely loving mother's back. After all I'm merely repeating her successful recipe with my own twist, and look how well I turned out... or maybe that's just my point of view.

The opinionated me
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Tags
No tags yet.
Intresting people
bottom of page